How to Recognize the Best Ventura DUI Lawyer?

How to Recognize the Best Ventura DUI Lawyer?

How to Recognize the Best Ventura DUI Lawyer?

Authored by Athena Nagel

Ventura DUI Lawyer

As per a 2020 report, Ventura ranks as the 10th US city with the highest number of drunk driving incidents. It has a DUI rate of 4.56% of all drivers in the town having a DUI on record. In addition, the Ventura County Sheriff’s Department makes 1,000 DUI arrests each year, on average.  It may be time for your to search for a Ventura DUI Lawyer.

With Ventura having some of the strictest laws in the country, you may assume there is no way to avoid a DUI conviction once you face such allegations in the county. However, a top Ventura DUI lawyer with knowledge about the system and potential defenses can help you win a fair acquittal.

Here’s how you can find the best lawyer to handle your DUI case in Ventura.

#1 Lawyer Covering Various Practice Areas

As per California Vehicle Code § 23152(f), you may face DUI charges in Ventura if found driving under the influence. Adhering to the California state laws, the trial could be under various categories, with felony, drug, marijuana, underage, and prescription being the common grounds.

Confirm with the DUI lawyer whether they handle different DUI cases and plan a unique defense, which best fits your specific case requirements.

#2 Highly Experienced DUI Lawyer

An experienced Ventura DUI lawyer will be aware of every aspect of a DUI case. For instance, they know Ventura adheres to NHTSA for the standardized tests and their timings to check driver’s sobriety, but they are optional in the county.

Ensure the attorneys have experience in fighting DUI cases. Their years of practice should help them navigate through the legalities of your case, inside and outside of court, thus ensuring the most favorable outcome.

#3 Ensure the DUI Lawyer Has Good Knowledge About the Local Laws

V.C. 23152, under subsections (a) and (b) specifically make driving under the influence of alcohol illegal in Ventura. Subsection (a) makes it unlawful to drive under the influence of alcohol, even if you have a BAC level under 0.08%, and subsection (b) applies when the BAC level is 0.08% or higher.

Check if the attorney knows the California state laws and Ventura County laws for various DUI charges, which will help decide the right defense strategy. In addition, they should be well-versed with what every section defines as violations, be it drug or prescription DUI, listing the illegal drugs and medicines with severe consequences.

#4 Ensure the DUI Lawyer Is Aware of the Penalties in DUI Cases

A first-time offender in Ventura can face a jail time of 48 hours with fines of over  $2,000. Subsequent DUI offenses within 10 years can lead to a license suspension for at least two years. You will also be put behind bars for 90 to 180 days and face other severe penalties.

The attorney should be capable of explaining to you the possible punishments you may receive, depending on the gravity of your charges. Ensure they also know about the other aspects, such as attending alcohol education programs and AA Meetings, that are also a part of the penalties.


A recent report shows that Ventura witnessed a 3.2% increase in DUI arrests in 2017, compared to 2016. If ever you face allegations in such cases in the Californian city, locate a reputed DUI lawyer. Having a strategic defense guarantees, you will have a fair trial leading to your confirmed acquittal from all DUI charges.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *