André Rieu Delivers Music for the Masses with new CD/DVD Shall We Dance


There are two instruments I absolutely love – one is bagpipes and the other is violin.  When thinking about artists who are just the best with the violin it is impossible to not start with André Rieu!  He is simply the best – I know of no one else who can compare.  And now André Rieu has a new album out entitled – Shall We Dance.  This is actually a CD and a DVD from Decca Gold.

“Shall We Dance” Tracklisting:

  1. Second Waltz
  2. The Blue Danube
  3. And The Waltz Goes On
  4. Godfather ( Main Theme)
  5. Strauss & Co Medley
  6. Love In Venice
  7. Radetzky March
  8. A Time For Us ( Romeo & Juliet)
  9. Zorba’s Dance
  10. Edelweiss
  11. Carnival Of Venice
  12. Bolero
  13. My Heart Will Go On
  14. Time To Say Goodbye
  15. Music Of The Night ( From Phantom Of The Opera) (Target Exclusive)
  16. Lara’s Theme ( From Dr. Zhivago) (Target Exclusive)

There are two bonus tracks exclusive to Target.

Rieu has a mission to broaden the appeal of classical music beyond the elites and share it with the masses.  Without him I am not sure my children would have been exposed on a regular basis to classical music – they often turn to his music especially when they just want to relax and enjoy. He is a Dutch-born violinist and orchestra leader, known as “The King of the Waltz,” and he is one of the best-selling classical musicians of all time, and one of the most popular musicians in Europe, period. He has sold over 40 million CDs and DVDs and notched 30 No. 1 chart positions worldwide. As leader of his own Johann Strauss Orchestra, the largest private orchestra in the world with 60 members, Rieu has played for more than 15 million people. In the first half of 2009, he was the world’s most successful male touring artist, and the sixth top-grossing live act just below U2, Madonna, and Bruce Springsteen, and above Britney Spears and Coldplay. That same year, Rieu played to his biggest audience ever, over 43,000 people in Melbourne.  He is quite impressive and amazing and I feel strongly that he has reached his goal of reaching the masses with classical music.

My favorite song on the new CD is A Time For Us – from Romeo and Juliet.  It has been one of my favorite pieces of music most of my life.  My grandmother played every version of this song she could find while I was growing up.  It was in her jewelry boxes, albums and more.  To this day it is one of the few pieces I can play (somewhat) on the piano.  There is so much feeling in A Time For Us and André performs it powerfully and with so much passion.  I get lost in that particular song and inevitably it brings back fond memories of spending time with my grandmother.  I can never get enough of that song.

My second favorite piece on this CD is Music of the Night (Phantom of the Opera).  The very first musical I saw was Phantom of the Opera and I had no idea a live event could be so captivating.  I get totally wrapped up in that musical and the musical pieces that make up the play.

André Rieu is also touring the US this Fall.  This video will give you a glimpse of his amazing showmanship.

Here is all the information for the upcoming stops in the US.  If you’re in one of these markets , you won’t want to miss the opportunity to experience his show!  Tickets may be purchased HERE.

US Tour Dates:

10/19 – Phoenix, AZ

10/20 – Las Vegas, NV

10/21 – San Diego, CA

10/22 – Los Angeles, CA

10/24 – San Jose, CA

10/25 – Sacramento, CA

10/26 – Fresno, CA

10/28 – Tacoma , WA

10/29 – Portland, OR

11/1 – Tampa, FL

11/2 – Orlando, FL

11/3 – Sunrise, FL

If you’re ready to purchase Shall We Dance – start HERE  for the original version or HERE for the Target version with two exclusive bonus tracks.







I received payment, product(s) or services in exchange for an honest opinion.  I only recommend products or services I use personally and/or I believe would be helpful for my readers.  The opinions expressed in this post are entirely my own.  Your experience with the product(s) or service(s) may differ from mine.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *