As cannabis legalization sweeps the country, more states are enjoying its benefits. Residents of Maine voted to legalize recreational cannabis in the November 2016 election. However, the state has only been participating in adult-use sales since October 2021, after numerous delays.
Here’s what you need to know about consuming cannabis in Maine, what to expect when you go to a cannabis dispensary, and where to find high-quality, lab-tested cannabis products.
Maine Cannabis Laws 101
Medical patients in Maine:
● Must be at least 18 years of age and have a caregiver over the age of 21, or be 21 years of age themselves
● Can possess up to 71 grams or 2.5 ounces of prepared, ready-to-consume cannabis and up to 8 pounds of dried cannabis
● You do not have to have specific conditions to qualify for medical cannabis. If a physician recommends medical cannabis, and the of-age patient is considered eligible regardless of the condition for which cannabis has been prescribed
Adult Use (Recreational)
● Must be at least 21 years of age
● Can possess up to 71 grams or 2.5 ounces of prepared cannabis and up to 5 grams of concentrates
What to Expect When Buying Cannabis in Maine
Knowing what to anticipate when you visit dispensaries in Maine can help make for an enjoyable, problem-free experience. It’s important to note that coming in unprepared without proper identification can result in you being sent away without being allowed to make a purchase.
Your First Maine Cannabis Dispensary Experience
Your first cannabis dispensary experience in Maine is bound to be an exciting one. You may have never purchased cannabis legally before, or perhaps this is your first time buying and consuming cannabis. Here are a few tips that can help make your first dispensary trip as smooth as possible.
What to Bring
● Your undamaged, valid, unexpired driver’s license or government-issued ID. Don’t bring an expired ID, one that has the lamination peeled off or is otherwise damaged.
● Cash. All cannabis dispensaries are cash-only businesses. That said, most dispensaries have at least one if not multiple ATMs on site.
Weediquette at a Dispensary
● Don’t touch your products. You can ask to see your cannabis, and the budtender can hold your products up for you to visually inspect. You may or may not be able to see through the packaging. Regardless, you cannot touch your products until you arrive home.
● Don’t open your bag. After your purchase, your items will be placed in a bag and stapled or sealed with your receipt. Wait to open your bag until you get home, and never open it in your vehicle.
Shop at a Trusted Maine Cannabis Dispensary for High-Quality, Lab-Tested Cannabis Products
The quality and reliability of your cannabis products are critical, whether you’re a medical cannabis patient or a recreational adult user. Make sure you do your research to find trusted dispensaries with local ownership and experience in the industry.